top of page
Search
  • jovestreeter

Whitby An Overnight Adventure

Updated: Oct 30, 2021


The day started like any other, a light breakfast at the apartment and figuring out what to do for the rest of the day. I texted my assistant, Haiku. Haiku told me that I had receved a very strange message from an old friend. He just said his name was Paul. Could it be the same Paul I had met when I lived on the tropical island so long ago? Haiku told me that Paul had left an address and that he sounded scared, but wanted to meet me ASAP. So, I guess I knew now what I would be doing today.


Could this be the place? It seemed really fancy, which did not seem like Paul at all, but it was so long ago since I had spoken to him. Things change, and people change.


I made my way up to Paul’s apartment in the elevator I wondered, what could be so important that he wanted to see me so urgently and why we could not meet in a cafe! There were so many good ones around here. Oh Well, let's find out, I mean what is it that could be that mysterious?


I was shocked when I saw Paul, he looked much older and was grey now what had happened to him? After we had exchanged pleasantries and caught up, he then told me his story. He met a woman actually an old friend of ours Ms. Sorbet, together they had gone on some wild adventures and had some really crazy times, but nothing had prepared him for……he paused before finally whispering “the visit to Whitby Island” He told me about some strange things he saw, then one night, she just disappeared…..Gone …nowhere to be found… then he dropped the bombshell “Jove you write a travel blog, will you go to Whitby and find out what happened to her”? …what could I say…. but yes


As Paul dropped me back to the apartment I called my assistant again and had her make the travel arrangements. What I did not know is she made them for two!

Haiku had booked a passage for two on the schooner Demeter, and if the crossing was any indication this was going to be a rough trip.


The storm lasted through the night, and I am sure that I heard screaming or was it just the wind! I went back to the cabin and crawled into the bunk, and then slept soundly until morning.


When we woke, Haiku seemed ill the crossing had not been kind to her. She said she had not been able to sleep, I wondered had it been more than just the wind? I got dressed and went up to the deck. It was still dark, and that’s when I found them…….



Some of the crew where dead, there corpses lay strewn on the deck, ..My god what had happened! Was this the screaming we had both heard. I went back to the cabin, Haiku had gone back to sleep…..


When she woke, we went topside again. But that was weird, the bodies were gone. Not a trace, had I dreamt it, was it real? As Whitby came into view I forgot about the last night. Early morning, it was just as amazing, could this beautiful place be as sinister as my friend Paul had said?


We both stood there watching the town get larger and larger. Haiku began to get excited. She wanted to go sightseeing and visit the shops! I looked down at her and started to see her in a new light. I liked her spunk. I saw her innocence and wide eyes, and If I were honest, I really liked that in her, a lot...


As soon as we got to shore, we started to explore. So many cute shops, even the famous Madam Blavatsky had a store here, (Look her up she is really famous). The town was old, I had not realized just how old it was. And the craftsmanship, you do not see work like this that often!


We sat down at the café, and sweet shop, its the only onein town. Listening to Haiku talk and tell me about herself was really nice, but at the back of my mind I couldn’t help but sense a dark foreboding feeling that not was all as it seemed here.


As Haiku finished her coffee it hit me. The sun was up the stores were open it was a beautiful day, but we were the only ones on the street! But that was soon forgotten as we decided to see more of the town and visit the church and ruins of the old abbey.


The abbey was just as impressive at it had looked from the ocean as we arrived. But as we looked around one thing struck me all of the crypts belonged to women! There were no men buried here! Where did the men go! Oh well next stop was the church.


Right next to the abbey is the beautiful church. a walk around here is lovely and the cliffs have an amazing view out to sea. I can see why when people visit here, they might want to stay, or even f they don't want to stay, they stay anyway.


I guess all those lessons at St Elizabeth payed off, Haiku was amazing and played the organ wonderfully, I told her this, and she replied, I like to play with an organ and then she winked at me. I wasn’t sure what to make of that, but I think it is going to be an interesting trip…. I had no idea how true that was!


We arrived at the manor house as the sun was going down. The place was even more amazing than I had imagined. Whoever built it had not spared any attention to detail.


The house was still being cleaned, It had been a long day so we decided to just head up to the bedroom. And start fresh in the morning.


Well, this is interesting, my assistant has booked a room with just one bed, albeit a big one but still just one bed, I looked over at her and she just shrugged. But we were both super tired and without much thought we both just crawled into bed.


We both discovered that there was an undeniable attraction we felt towards each other. How had I not seen this in all the years she has worked for me. This was not planned and was totally unexpected. Her body looked amazing, but we needed to work together still, and much as we both wanted to we agreed that making love could wait until tomorrow night, We both knew It would still be amazing,


and with that we cuddled up and tried to go to sleep. I could not shake the feeling that we were not alone and a shiver went down my spine as I finally went to sleep.


I woke up to the sense there was someone in the room, I saw

nothing, and thought that maybe I had just had a bad dream, and so, I just drifted back to sleep



I woke up in a daze, and to my horror I realized that Haiku had gone! It was as if she faded from existence! I jumped up! In fright and threw on some clothesI had planned to search for Ms. Sorbet, Paul’s missing girl, and now my girl was missing as well! I had to find her.


As soon as i was dressed, I made my way down to the manor’s library, perhaps there would be a clue there as to what had happened to Haiku


I noticed the large desk and began to rifle through it, It was full of books on the occult and the afterlife, what was this place, and what was this town! I needed answers now!


It did not take long to learn that neither Paul or I were the first to lose women in the middle of the night here at Whitby. In fact women had been disappearing under mysterious circumstances for over 100 years!


The night was much more ominous than the town we had visited during the day. And outside I found Our driver Ms. Cortez, I asked her if she had seen a young girl. after telling her she had gone missing from my room she just laughed, and said "you are not the first, and I am sure you will not be the last", good luck, perhaps you should try the crypts, she offered as she drove off.


But where was the crypt and how was I to find.it


Finally! I found the entrance to the crypt, but I could not get the door to open, inside I thought I heard a muffled scream, could that be my Haiku! I franticly pulled on the door willing it to open, but it would not budge!


Little did I know that just beyond the doors Hakiu lay there, scared and wondering what was to become of her!


As the night wore on, I became more frantic, where was she! Where had she gone! Why did I come here! Perhaps I would find answers down in the village! The abbey might hold some clues.


Arriving at the abby I began to look around, wondering what I might find. Then I saw it......


I found a tomb that seemed to be much newer than the others. On the side was an inscription, it read to go to the town and wait for a me …what could that mean! and with that I turned left the abbey and headed towards the town.


The village was deserted, no one was around, did I make a mistake in interprating the writing on the crypt?





To my shock a figure appeared in front of me. As she slowly appeared ……

I braced myself and prepared for the worst!


And then I noticed, she had been killed a long time ago, who was she, and what did she want to talk to me about, and who was she?.....…


So this was, Ms Sorbet, It would appear that I had found Paul’s missing girl, unfortunately she was gone and could never return to the land of the living, but she said all was not lost for me, and there was still a way to find Haiku she whispered in my ear….and I listened and smiled….


As the night drew to an end I had a sense of purpose, and now I knew that all was not lost. I would find Haiku and bring her home!



The door way to hades was under the abbey, I would return find it and bring Haiku home.


TO BE CONTINUED .......

_______________________________________________________________________________________


Special thanks to;


Paul Vuall.......as Himself

Haiku SpiritWeaver.....as my Assistant

Ermine Cortes ...as The driver

And the unknown idiot that jumped into my shot, but made it into the post anyway......The evil spirit

Kitten Babcock....as The friendly wraith


a very special thank you to Hera and her wonderful location

Whitby, Dracula, Vampires, Abbey, Steampunk, Victorian, Lovecraft. Dark Urban, Role Play, Clubs,Bars, School, Bank Police, Batman Shadezar, Kingdom of Sand, http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Cloud%20Lake/17/241/2658


Other locations Naturally Naughty SL's best Photo Studio! http://maps.secondlife.com/secondlife/Coast%20of%20Passion/175/143/2603


And the Essendon Hotel, and my apartment













179 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page